Corporate governance

In 2014–15 the Commission undertook a range of corporate governance activities to achieve high levels of accountability and transparency. As in the previous year, a key goal in its business plan was to be an effective, high-performing and accountable Australian Public Service (APS) agency. Its corporate governance activities were overseen by the Executive, with support from a number of committees.

The Executive

The Executive comprises the most senior managers in the Commission's administration. It is chaired by the General Manager and meets fortnightly to discuss key planning and operational issues.

In 2014–15 the Executive was comprised of:

  • General Manager – Bernadette O'Neill
  • Director, Client Services – Louise Clarke
  • Director, Corporate Services – Miranda Pointon (July to December 2014)
  • Acting Director, Corporate Services – Ailsa Carruthers (from January 2015)
  • Director, Regulatory Compliance – Chris Enright
  • Director, Tribunal Services – Murray Furlong.

Fair Work Commission committees

Procurement Committee

The Procurement Committee is managed by the Manager, Reporting, Planning and Legal and includes other senior managers in the organisation. It has a pivotal role in ensuring that procurements made by the Commission are consistent with Australian Government procurement rules and that procurement is actively managed. The Procurement Committee assesses procurements over $80,000.

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee's objective is to provide assurance to the General Manager regarding the Commission's financial and performance reporting responsibilities, risk oversight and management, systems of internal control and internal audit. The committee meets at least four times each year.

The General Manager appoints committee members. In 2014–15, the Audit Committee was chaired by an external independent committee member. Internal committee members were the Director, Client Services, the Director, Corporate Services (until December 2014) and a senior manager (from January 2015).

The composition of the Audit Committee changed at the end of the reporting period in order to comply with s.17(4) of the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Rule 2014, which requires that on and after 1 July 2015 the majority of committee members must be persons who are not officials of the Commission. The Audit Committee now consists of one senior manager of the Commission, two external independent members and a chair who is also an external independent member.

Staff Consultative Committee

The Commission has a well-established and functioning consultative and communication forum with a charter to consider matters affecting the workplace. The Staff Consultative Committee was established and is maintained by its inclusion in the Commission's enterprise agreement.

The committee includes:

  • the General Manager
  • management representatives
  • employee representatives
  • a union official.

The committee endeavours to meet at least three times each year.

Major Projects Control Committee

The Major Projects Control Committee was established during the reporting period. The committee is comprised of the Executive and other senior managers of the Commission. The committee has responsibility for the high-level strategic governance of major organisational and capital expenditure projects. The committee meets on a monthly basis.