Updated time

Last updated

20 March 2017

The Rudd Government's changes to the national workplace relations system has seen the creation of two new institutions – Fair Work Australia and the Fair Work Ombudsman. These bodies replace the:

  • Australian Industrial Relations Commission and the Australian Industrial Registry
  • Australian Fair Pay Commission and its Secretariat
  • Workplace Authority
  • Workplace Ombudsman

Change is being implemented in three key stages.

  • 2008 27 March—transitional legislation proclaimed preventing the making of new Australian workplace agreements.
  • 2009 1 July—Fair Work Australia and the Office of the Fair Work Ombudsman begin operations – new provisions for dismissal claims and enterprise bargaining effective.
  • 2010 1 January—modern awards and National Employment Standards now apply.